Ruining College Visits


Yesterday I went to the overnight for accepted students at Brandeis University. There was this one prospective student from Arkansas. I was wowed.

“Wow, this kid must be really excited about Brandeis, coming all the way from Arkansas to see it,” I thought.

He then freely stated that Brandeis was not his first choice. He wanted to apply to schools in the north, and had gotten into Brandeis. I thought, “OK, well maybe it isn’t his first choice, but he must have really put a lot of thought into coming all the way up here, probably missing school, to advance his education.”

I was very wrong. He got into the dorm, and smoked weed with one of the college kids, and was high the rest of the night.

Why would he do this? He came all the way out from Arkansas to smoke weed with the college kids as soon as he got here. It astounds me that he was willing waste his and his parent’s energy coming all the way to Arkansas. I’ve never been to Arkansas, but I’m pretty sure they have pot there. It irritated me to have to drag along this kid that was very high and smelled like weed the whole night. It irritated me more that someone would waste everyone’s time by getting high on a day when one is supposed to be making a life-determining decision. How much of the visit will he remember back in Little Rock? Probably not much.  

Why are teenagers so stupid? 

Leave a comment